Meat Safety & Quality Team Members

MEET THE RIGHT PEOPLE

TEAM MEMBERS

Meat Safety & Quality

CMSQ Faculty and Staff

Food Safety is a dynamic and challenging concern which requires a generation of new information and continuous re-evaluation of existing knowledge in order to address newly developed, perceived or recognized threats or risks to human health, and to develop effective and economic means for their control, without adverse effects on product quality. The Center for Meat Safety & Quality of Colorado State University has available expertise to address all issues of meat and food safety, defense, and quality, and to contribute to the enhancement of food safety worldwide. CMSQ scientists have interacted and lectured in more than 20 countries, on top of their partnerships in over 30 groups within the United States.

Keith E. Belk, Ph.D. (Chair of Center for Meat Safety & Quality and Professor)
Email Address: keith.belk@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-5826
Research Interest(s): Red Meat Quality and Safety; Live Animal Development; International Marketing of Red Meats; Quality Management Systems

Marisa Bunning, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor)
Email Address: marisa.bunning@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-7180
Research Interest(s): Food Safety Communication; Post-harvest Produce Safety and Quality; Food Processing; Consumer Food Handling Behavior

Robert Delmore, Ph.D. (Professor)
Email Address: robert.delmore@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-7093
Research Interest(s): Food Safety; Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) Systems

Lynn Delmore, Ph.D. (Adjunct Professor)
Email Address: delmoreconsulting@gmail.com | Phone Number: N/A
Research Interest(s): Food Safety; Meat Processing; Animal Welfare; Beef Slaughter Microbial Intervention Techniques

Temple Grandin, Ph.D. (Professor)
Email Address: cheryl.miller@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-0243
Research Interest(s): Livestock Equipment Design; Animal Behavior; Handling and Welfare

Jennifer Martin, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor)
Email Address: jennifer.martin@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-8381
Research Interest(s): Systems-based approach to Meat Safety & Quality

Dustin L. Pendell, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor)
Email Address: dustin.pendell@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-2233
Research Interest(s): Livestock and Meat Marketing; Animal Disease; Animal Identification and Traceability

Gary Smith, Ph.D. (Emeritus Professor)
Email Address: gary.smith@colostate.edu | Phone Number: N/A
Research Interest(s): Meat Science and Food Safety

John N. Sofos, Ph.D. (University Distinguished Professor)
Email Address: john.sofos@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-7703
Research Interest(s): Food Microbiology; Microbial Food Safety; Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) Systems

Dale R. Woerner, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor)
Email Address: dale.woerner@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-7615
Research Interest(s): Pre-Harvest and Post-Harvest Management of Meat Quality and Palatability; Meat Grading and Specifications; Instrument Use for Carcass Value Determination; Meat Composition and Nutrition; Meat Packaging and Shelf-Life; Producer Education and Youth Outreach

Hua Yang, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor)
Email Address: hua.yang@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-8272
Research Interest(s): Food Microbiology; Microbial Food Safety

Staff: Joe Bullard (Meat Lab Manager)
Email Address: joe.bullard@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-6267

Staff: Monica Thrasher (Administrative Assistant)
Email Address: monica.thrasher@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-1164

Staff: Gina Geornaras, Ph.D. (Pathogen Reduction Laboratory Director)
Email Address: gina.geornaras@colostate.edu | Phone Number: (970) 491-7128

Contact CSU Equal Opportunity Privacy Statement Disclaimer

2018 Colorado State Universtiy, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523 USA